The Power of Inspiration

Standard

I have been struggling a lot the past few weeks with my writing.  I just don’t feel like doing it.  When I sit down to the page, nothing comes to me, and when it does, it feels forced.  I like nothing that I write.  This is unusual for me.  I don’t have huge blocks of time to write so when I do get the opportunity, I usually just pour it all out, sometimes finishing drafts within an hour or less.  I feel an energy surge through me and a sense of joy that I am doing what I love.

Not so much these past few days.  After speaking with my life coach last week, he reminded me that I always felt inspired at those times of writing flow.  He encouraged me to write on the page “I don’t know what to write” if I was feeling uninspired.  I did this today and kept writing it until my pen started coming up with ideas about what I should be writing – that book that came to me when my daughter asked me to read her a book – or that other book that was sparked by my son’s funny story after school.  I soon wanted to open up a manuscript I had started right after my aunt passed away 6 months ago, inspired by something that my daughter said to me.  The words poured out of me (along with many tears).  I wrote a draft in 20 minutes.  It was the most emotionally charged writing I have every done – and maybe my best.

It got me thinking.  I must not underestimate the power of inspiration.  I don’t care how many ideas I have for books.  If they are not inspired internally, pushing me on some emotional level, I really struggle.  Maybe this isn’t every writer’s process, but I just discovered that it is for me.  I need to stick with the projects that made me stop and write something down…the notes I left myself to put something together with them later.  That is what brings me to the page energized and focused.   I learned an important lesson today on my writer’s journey.

 

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

7 responses »

  1. We all go through bouts of this, Stephanie. But as writers we always find ways to write. Try watching FInding Forrester with Sean Connery– i know that movie made me want to write!

  2. Hi Steph! I find that this has to be true for me to create. I must be inspired and it must be personal. I am not a writer, but when I create an event or give a talk, it has to come from a personal, inspired place.

  3. I know this is an old post, but I just wanted to say that you’re not alone. The hardest part of writing a blog is well, the writing! I struggle with just about every single post. I think for some, it’s just part of the process. While frustrating, it doesn’t mean that you’re any less talented or successful overall.

    • Thank you, Hannah. That means a lot coming from you! I blog at veegmama.com now. This was my kids writing blog that I don’t keep up any more. Your writing always inspires. I took a workshop with you at Vida Vegan Con last year and think you are fabulous! I really appreciate the comment ( and the work you do) – kind of exactly what I needed to hear right now.

Leave a Reply

