Children’s Book Writers of Los Angeles

Standard

I attended a great workshop last weekend by CBW-LA (The Children’s Book Writers of Los Angeles.  It was entitled “Finding Your Write Path.”  It was a 3-hour session, designed to get you organized and motivated to meet your 2012 writing goals.  Nutschell Windsor runs the group and led the session.  She offered fantastic worksheets, as well as comprehensive handouts on the publishing and children’s literature industry.  It was a wealth of information that I will put to good use.

Although the handouts were worth attending in itself, I took away the most value from the worksheet exercises we did in the session: Writing Reflections (when you started writing and why you want to be a writer); A Writer’s Contract (signed by all in attendance); My Writing Commitment (a schedule and hours of when we’ll commit to writing each week) and My Writing Goals.  Nutshell explained how we have a far greater probability of achieving our goals (and realizing our writing dreams) if we write them down.  Going through the exercise of putting pen to paper, and taking time to formulate those goals, schedules and timelines was helpful.  It was also motivating and inspiring.  I left energized and ready to take on my writer’s goals, no matter how lofty they may seem to others.  Being together with 20 other writers doing the same thing gave me confidence that maybe I am not so crazy after all.

Check out The Children’s Book Writers of Los Angeles  on Facebook and Meetup (www.meetup.com/Torrance-Childrens-Book-Writing-Group/).  If you are an aspiring children’s writer, I highly recommend this group.

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

One response »

  1. If you’re not a member of CBW-LA then you may not really be serious about your writing and/or a writing career. This is one of the best groups to be a part of.

    I also attended this meeting and it was by far one of THE BEST I’ve been to. The knowledge I walked away with was well worth my time and travel (from the valley) and I left empowered to be more committed to my love of words and to work more diligently to completing my novel.

    You will certainly want to check out future meetings of this top notch meet-up. There is something for ALL writers to come away. I, too, highly recommend this writer’s group. Write on!!

Leave a Reply

