Just Write

Standard

I’ve been going around in circles trying to move my picture book biography forward.  I start and stop.  I do some more research, start again.  Then, stop.  I think all writers can relate to this frustration.  Being trained in the academic field, I am accustomed to approaching my writing projects with an outline, or at least, some sort of “plan” in my head about how the book will play out.  In the case of my picture book biography, you would think this would be easy since the subject’s life is already charted for you.  But, what to choose to depict?  What do you hone in on?

After much starting and stopping, I solved this problem by just writing.  I started writing what I wanted my readers to know about my subject.  I started writing what I remembered most from all my research.  Then, I just kept writing.  Before I knew it, I had a great start down on paper, and some sort of outline for the book.

So, keep writing.  It’s the only thing we can do as writers.  It is quite obvious, yet not so simple all the time.  I remind us, just in case you need the reminder: Just write.

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

