Magazines

Standard

I just submitted a story to a children’s magazine for consideration.  I took a class at UCLA several years ago about the children’s magazine market.  It was very helpful and opened a whole new world to me.  For a beginning writer, magazine markets are a great way to gain some experience (and confidence) while writing picture book and chapter book manuscripts in the meantime.  I have made several submissions over the last year to no avail yet, but I have found a sense of productivity in the work and preparation that goes into each submission.  These submissions also keep me writing, which is critical to keeping me on track.  When I feel overwhelmed by a manuscript I am working on, researching a magazine market can be a fun break.  It helps me focus on something else for a bit, and usually opens my mind to whatever was holding me back on the manuscript that was weighing me down.

The opportunities for magazine markets are vast.  They say “write what you know” and with all the targeted mag topics, you can guarantee you’ll find a topic that matches an area of your expertise.  I try to research and submit to at least one magazine market per month.  It’s still to early to determine any success in it yet, but I am committed to keep at it.

Have you submitted to magazines with any success?

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

2 responses »

  1. Stephanie,

    I am really glad you posted this. I have been working on my book writing while also seriously thinking about sending some of my other writing out to magazines. I think about it every day on and off all day….fear is the gate blocking me. You are an inspiration in this department because you are sending out your magazine writing in manageable bites, not pressuring yourself to send out so many it’s overwhelming, and with no additional pressure to have to have them sell. I also like that you shared that you do your magazine research as a fun way to do a different kind of writing and it also works to unblock you for your book writing. I too find as I do research on material it gets my mind going in all kinds of fun and exciting directions to write about. Thank you for your inspiration by way of sharing your experiences along the way.

Leave a Reply

