SCBWI Schmooze

Standard

I went to my first SCBWI Schmooze last night.  I’ve been a member for a year now (just renewed my membership), but have never participated in any of the events.  This year, I promised myself to get more involved.  I sought out the Westside Schmooze group because I couldn’t get any information about the South Bay Schmooze group (If you know anything on this group, please let me know!).  The Westside meets once a month.  Last night’s topic was “Presenting Yourself Online.”  Over 50 people attended.  I thought it was really well-organized.  Lee and Rita (the Schmooze organizers) were fantastic.  The vibe of the group was open and inviting.  I left feeling really excited about being part of a writer’s community.  I also got to meet several of the folks whose names I see all the time in my SCWBI newsletter and on the listserves.

I left with a long to-do list for my online marketing, as well as several blogs and websites from fellow authors that I want to check out.  If you haven’t tried a Schmooze, I highly recommend it.  They meet in Santa Monica.  The next one is 3/9 and the topic is Picture Book Critique (bring your manuscript).  Do you have any SCBWI events to recommend?

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

Leave a Reply

