Queries

Standard

I wrote a query today for a 2-book picture book series that I completed at the end of last year.  I have written queries before, but this was my first for a complete manuscript (make that two).  It’s sitting on my desk now and I hesitate to mail it in.  Is that dumb?  After a year of working on the manuscripts and then another hour and a half invested in writing the query, I should be jumping out of my seat to get that letter in the mail.  But I am stalling.  The fear of someone reading it or not reading it has me stopped in fear.  Fear that no one will want a read a picture book like this.  Fear that my writing isn’t good enough…that my query isn’t even good enough to get them to read the manuscript.  Fear that this will begin a long road of rejection ups and downs that I don’t know will pay off in the end.  I need a pep talk.  Or a success story.  Or just a story that it will all be alright.  A story that tells me that it gets easier would be nice too.

Do queries make you crazy too?  Do you have a story to share?

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

2 responses »

  1. I got your link from the SCBWI message you sent! Yes, I’ve been there, received MANY rejections, I’m here again, and struggling with the same fears. If it helps, you could set the query aside for a few days to be sure it’s just the way you want it. Once you’re ready, just go for it. One thing that helps me with the wait time is writing new material. I hope this helps, and good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

