Doing It

Standard

This is my first post on my “writer’s” blog.  I’ve had a personal blog for more than a year now, but have finally launched a blog to support my writing career.  This is all still unfolding, but my goal for this space is to share information about what’s working (and not), get comments and feedback to help me on this writer’s journey, and chronicle my musings as I become a published children’s book author with a burgeoning career.  Here we go!

So, first on my to do list is well, a list.  Make that several lists.  I have been doing a lot of reading and research about how to set myself up for success.  As with any field, there is a lot to learn.  As a marketing consultant for over 10 years, I know all of the conferences, agencies, and trades.  I am learning all of that in the world of children’s writing.  It is a bit overwhelming, but never more thrilling.  So, based on the research, classes and group knowledge I’ve gained to date, here’s my list:

1. Make a list of agents to query

2. Bookmark writers blogs to visit weekly

3. Attend some SCWBI local events in my area

4. Start writing the two projects I’ve started but am most afraid of (that should probably be number #1 on the list)

Do you have anything I should add to the list?  I am just starting out, working on several projects and trying to take my writing career more seriously.  I’d love to hear the first steps you took before you got published or any insight about how to just do it.

About Stephanie Dreyer

Stephanie Dreyer is the founder of VeegMama, a lifestyle brand sharing new approaches to healthy living and eating. She encourages her readers to live their best life every day through food, wellness, and personal fulfillment. She is also a children's book writer and mom of three. Stephanie was most recently featured on KCAL 9 in Los Angeles and Chickpea Magazine. She is a contributing author in the #1 Amazon Bestselling Book, Sexy Fit and Fab Sirens. Her new ebook, VeegMama's Guide To Going Vegan is available on Amazon Kindle, Nook, and iBooks. Visit my blog at http://veegmama.com.

4 responses »

  1. Hi, I like your list, but writing everyday and revising is the key element, though I like that your are already focused on the success part of it. You sound so sure it will happen, like you can see it already. The last (actually 2nd to last) Westside Smooze was on Planning. I tend to enjoy the creating part so much, I don’t leave enough time for the selling.
    As far as adding to your list, I’d say a Critique Group or others who can read your work and give feedback is important, as is reading a lot in the genre your working.

    • Hi Deborah,

      Great comment – writing and revising. I guess I kind of assumed that, but it is more profound than you realize! I am a marketing consultant so I am focused daily on marketing…knowing my audience, the market, and building my tactics. I jumped right into that, but thank you for reminding me about the cornerstones of a successful writing career. I was just thinking today that I was spending so much time on the other stuff, I had to push off my actual writing.

      I do have a couple of projects I am working on and try to write something every day (though not always successfully!). I am working on the Critique Group component by reaching out to a few opportunities in my area. Thanks for the tip on reading in the genre. I just picked up some books for a picture book biography I am working on and they were so helpful.

      I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment!

  2. Stephanie,

    I too am a writer that is finally making her way to becoming a writer. I have always wanted to write for publication (freelance writing as well as my own book/s). I am inspired by your blog and look forward to hearing your advice, experiences and insights so that I too may learn. Thank you for your blog! 🙂

    • HI! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I appreciate it more than you know. I am thrilled that my blog has inspired and excited to “meet” another writer also on her writing path. Thanks for following!

Leave a Reply

